10 Affirmations For Your Root Chakra

Black Mom's Guide to Calm

If you’re reading this, you might already know what chakras are.  If not (or you aren’t entirely sure), chakras refer to the wheels of energy throughout our bodies in yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda. There are seven main chakras that align the spine, starting at the base and through the crown of your head. Because they affect our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being, it’s important that the chakras stay open, fluid, and aligned.

The root chakra is located at the base of your spine and consists of the things that ground you to stability in your life. This includes your basic physical needs (food, water, shelter, safety) and your emotional needs (like moving past fear and worry).

When your root chakra is unbalanced, you might feel:

  • “out of it”/like your mind is all over the place.
  • anxious or worried.
  • unworthy.

When the root chakra is balanced, you feel:

  • stable.
  • secure.
  • trusting (of yourself and your Higher Power).

Associated color: red.

Crystals to use: red jasper, red aventurine, ruby, smoky quartz, black tourmaline (just to name a few).

One way to heal your chakras is through affirmations. Here are 10 to use:

  1. I am safe, and it is safe to be safe.
  2. I am rooted and grounded.
  3. I am secure.
  4. I release all fear and anxiety.
  5. I am supported in every way by Life.
  6. My ancestors are always with me.
  7. I am abundant and live in an abundant universe.
  8. I always have what I need
  9. I trust Life and Divine Timing.
  10.  I rest in the knowing that things always work out for me.

Have any questions about using these affirmations or this post? Email me here.

Overview of the 7 Chakras

Black Girl's Guide to Calm


According to chopra.com, the Sanskrit word ‘chakra’ translates to wheel or disk. This term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body in yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda. There are seven main chakras, and they align the spine, starting at its base and through to the crown of the head. The swirling wheels of energy correspond to large nerve centers in the body. Each chakra has bundle of nerves and major organs in addition to our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being. It’s important that the seven chakras stay open, fluid, and aligned, because if there’s a blockage, energy can’t flow.

Here’s an overview of the chakras, plus affirmations to help you unblock and heal them:

1. Root Chakra
Located at the base of the spine; connects to our sense of groundedness and instincts of survival
When off-balance: You might experience low energy, become alienated from yourself and others, and be easily angered.
When balanced: You feel secure, stable, and full of health, energy, and vitality.
I am safe and secure.
I trust in the goodness of life.
I have everything I need.

2. Sacral Chakra
Located in the reproductive area; connects to our feelings, emotions, sexuality, and creativity
When off-balance: You might experience jealousy, guilt, possessiveness, and shame of body/sexuality.
When balanced: You experience grace, flexibility, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and creativity.
I acknowledge my uniqueness.
I love and enjoy my body.
I allow myself to experience pleasure.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra 
Located in the stomach; connects to our ego, will, personal power, and autonomy
When off-balance: Your self-confidence might be threatened, and you might experience confusion and depression.
When balanced: You have harmony and protection and feel comfortable with yourself and others.
I love and accept myself.
I feel and own my power.
I am authentic.

4. Heart Chakra 
Located in the heart region; connects to our emotional self and brings harmony, forgiveness, sincerity, and love
When off-balance: You may over-love and experience jealousy, abandonment, anger, loneliness, and bitterness.
When balanced: You feel joy, love, gratitude, and compassion.
I deeply and completely love myself.
I am open to love and kindness.
I am loved.

5. Throat Chakra
Located in the throat region; connects to our expressive self, reinforces communication, speech, and healing
When off-balance: You may have issues surrounding self-expression and have fear of no power or control.
When balanced: You can express your truth without worrying what others will think.
I have the right to speak my truth.
I live an authentic life.
I express my feelings easily and freely.

6. Third Eye Chakra
Located in between the eyebrows; connects to our intuition
When off-balance: You might experience moodiness, excessive daydreaming, and distrust.
When balanced: You feel open and focused, and have a deep spiritual connection, strong morality, and can easily discern between truth and illusion.
I am in touch with my inner wisdom.
I trust and listen to my intuition.
I know that all is well in my world.

7. Crown Chakra
Located at the top of the head; connects to our higher consciousness
When off-balance: You can experience depression, the inability to learn, rigid thoughts on religion, constant confusion, and fear of alienation.
When balanced: You live in the moment and strongly trust in your inner guidance.
I honor the divine within me.
My life is divinely guided.
I live in the present moment.

BONUS: Click for yor Chakra affirmation download.